Department Of Physics

The Department of Physics, excelling as the pride of St. Stephen’s, being the first postgraduate department of the college, offers M.Sc Physics with Advanced Electronics   as specialization and  B.Sc  Physics as core subject, Mathematics and Chemistry as Complimentary subjects.

The department started functioning on 16th September 1968 with the formal inauguration by the founder Bishop of the college. Prof. K.M. Mathew, the first head of the department rendered the longest tenure of his service until promoted to the post of Principal in 1992. We are very proud to report that our former faculty member Rev. Fr. Luke Puthiyakunnel had also served as the principal of this college during 1982 – 92 which was the golden period of the institution. His Excellency Mar. Kurikose Kunnasserry, then Patron of the college and bishop of the diocese fulfilled his far sighted ambition in 1995 by upgrading the department with a postgraduate course. With the dedicated and committed performance, it stands out as a prime center of Physics and Computer education in the college.

Now the department has a group of six well experienced, dedicated and competent faculty and two young guest lecturers. Under their guidance, students are scoring high marks in the university examinations and are attaining covetable positions in India and abroad. Almost 100% of the postgraduates from the department are employed in various institutions in India and abroad. It is a matter of pride that His Grace Mar Mathew Moolakkattu, the Arch Bishop of Kottayam is a prestigious alumnus of the department. Another prominent alumnus is Prof. Dr.( Late) Alex Punnoose who was a distinguished Professor in the Boise State University, U.S.A. He was awarded the Cottrell College Science Award in 2003 constituted by the Research Corporation of America. A significant number of our alumni are placed in various multinational companies through campus recruitment drives. Some of our alumni are placed in institutes like NITs, various university departments and colleges across the country.

Physics association under the department conducts various group activities for students; it also conducts various seminars and workshops related to advanced topics in Physics. Apart from this, the association conducts an all Kerala intercollegiate Physics Quiz to commemorate the memory of Prof. Celine K Joseph who was a faculty member of the department from 1978 to 1996 and passed away in November 1996. This event has become a prestigious event of the college.

Goals and Objectives of the Department

The department aims at a new generation with positive thinking, rational outlook with scientific temper. We also aim in building a generation who can face the present day global challenges with confidence.

The department delivers holistic education that includes sound learning, building up of character, spread of truth and faith in God. It inculcates moral values, sense of social commitment and dignity of labor among youth through value education programmes.

The ultimate aim of conducting UG and PG programs in physics is to impart interest and knowledge in the subject and develop scientific and research aptitude. We expect at least a few of them will contribute valuable research output in the future. These programs also aim to produce quality teachers in secondary and higher education level.

Technology leaps forward with tremendous speed. This demands the urgent need of training our students  in various technical and soft skills. Moreover, the specialty of Uzhavoor village is that, many people are working abroad mainly in United States, United Kingdom and Gulf countries. These circumstances demand education and training in Advanced Electronics, Rural and semi urban society of Kerala is facing a problem of unavailability of skilled technicians for Electrical and Electronic equipment maintenance. Therefore we started a career oriented program in Electrical and Electronics equipment maintenance sponsored by university grants commission.