Centre for Environmental Education and Rural Development

The CEERD is an organisation established in 2001 to undertake studies related to the development problems of Uzhavoor Panchayat and neighbouring areas and to identify the potential resources available in the area for sustainable development. It also aims to link the college with the local community in a mutually beneficial manner. Programmes are formulated by linking together all educational institutions in the area, the local administration, all governmental bodies, voluntary organisations, banks and the people of Uzhavoor Panchayat. All departments in the college conduct CEERD programmes, utilising the expertise of its faculty members. In this way, the organisation seeks to make teaching and learning related to social needs. Paristhithi Mithra Award given by CEERD, sponsored by Prof. V.P. Thomaskutty (Former Principal and Chairman of CEERD) and Prof. P.J. Joy (First Executive Director of CEERD)


    • To transform Uzhavoor Panchayat into a self-sufficient village (Grama swaraj) through sustainable development.
    • To create citizens who are environment-conscious, socially responsible and culturally aware of our rich traditions.
    • To create clean air, water, and soil that provide healthier habitats to the living components.

Paristhithi Mithra Award

 Paristhithi Mithra is an award instituted by the CEERD, St. Stephen's College, Uzhavoor, in 2009. The award is given in recognition of the outstanding contribution of individuals, governmental or non-governmental organisations, and educational institutions towards promoting environmental protection, conservation, and preservation in the State of Kerala. The award would be presented every year on World Environment Day. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 10000/- sponsored by Prof. V.P. Thomaskutty, the former Principal and founder Chairman of CEERD and Prof. P.J. Joy the founder Executive Director of CEERD.

Selection Process

          Applications for the award of Paristhithi Mithra shall reach the office of the Executive Director, CEERD, St. Stephen's College, Uzhavoor, on or before 30th March of every year, along with a detailed report of the environmental activities undertaken by the organisation during the previous calendar year. The report shall invariably be substantiated with evidence like newspaper cuttings, CDs, photographs etc. and an undertaking by the head of the organisation. The report and supportive evidence shall be submitted in triplicate. The winner will be adjudicated by a panel of environmental experts whose decision will be final.

The Recipients of the Paristhithi Mithra Award

2010 - Prof. C.P Roy, Director ,Green Leaf, Kattappana.

2011 - SHREYAS Social Service Society, Sulthan Bathery.

2012 - MACFAST Thiruvalla.

2013 - BODHANA Social Service Society, Thiruvalla.

2014 - Kottayam Social Service Society, Kottayam.

2015 - Wayanad Social Service

2016 - Dr. Prof. K.P.Joy, Chairman, EIAA Kerala (Individual Category)    

           St.Theresa's College, Ernakulam(Educational Institution Category)

           Welfare Services, Ernakulam(Society Category)

2017 - S. H. College, Thevara (Autonomous), Kochi (Educational Institution Category)

           Mr. Adarsh Kumar C.D, Chamakalayil(H),Poonjar (Individual Category)

2018 1 - Marthoma College Tiruvalla (Institution Category)

             Ruby Thomas Thengumthottathil, Puliyannoor, Pala (Individual Category)

2019 - Tropical Institute of Ecological Sciences, Manarkadu (Institution Category)

         - Sri. NK Sukumaran Nair, Pampa Samrakshana Samiti (Individual Category)

2020 - Malabar Social Service Society, Kannur (Institution Category)

         - K.Binu (Vrikshavydyan)Vazhoor (Individual Category)

2021 - St. Teresa's College, Eranakulam (Institution Category)

         - Mr. K Bulbendran, Aayiram Acre, Adimali (Individual Category)

2022 - Christ College, Irinjalakuda (Institution Category)

          -Sri. Parameswaran Namboothiri TN , Kurichithanam (Individual Category)

Office Bearers

Chairman: Dr. Stephen Mathew

Executive Director: Sri. Thomas K.C.

Secretary: Smt. Bibi Joseph

Student Representatives: Joseph Abin (II Economics) & Nazreen Najeeb (II English Lit)


  • Association-wise Grow- bag cultivation competition
  • Plantation of more saplings in the campus & House (Microfarming).
  • Clean campus & Waste Management
  • Environment Education trip
  • Certificate course in Environment and Sustainable development –Training & Practices in Association with Kottayam Social Service Society (KSS)
  • Mushroom cultivation
  • Vermicomposting
  • Butterfly Garden and Green House Maintenance
  • Tuition to nearby School students during the vacation
  • Paper bag, paper pen, cloth mat preparation -Training and distribution
  • Organised Free Mammogram testing camp for Ladies of Uzhavoor Panchayath and Mothers of college students in association with Caritas Hospital Kottayam